The Go To Healthy Pasta – Alla Checca

The Go To Healthy Pasta – Alla CheccaImage

I have been in a love affair with the tomato since about seven, when I first began carefully, joyfully slicing about 12 tomatoes at a time to make my alla checca. So on essay days (3 days each week when I devote myself distracted body, exhausted mind, and aching soul to my computer and a stack of books, a stack I spent the previous 3 days reading), I will probably make this simple, quick to cook pasta dish.

Ingredients for a 1 Person Serving:

4 tomatoes (yes 4! No questions, because 4 tomatoes is my idea of a one person serving of a la checca)

2 teaspoons chopped fresh basil

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

As much pasta as you like

Image

Simply slice the tomatoes into tiny pieces (below see the evolution of tomato from whole to small)

Image

Mix the olive oil, salt, pepper and chopped fresh basil with the tomatoes and add your cooked pasta of choice. It’s that easy. You don’t have to cook anything except the pasta. I made my version with gnocchi- which cooks in under 3 minutes- so we can spend less time cooking and more time eating before we all get back to whatever books, projects, or daily grind is ahead of us.

Take a well-deserved break and enjoy your meal!

-Dakota

Leave a Reply

